997 Turbo / GT2 2006–2012 Turbo discussion on the 997 model Porsche 911 Twin Turbo.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Bears Transport

Which 997 TT is faster Manual or Tips ???

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-16-2008, 12:43 PM
GT RUS is just really niceGT RUS is just really niceGT RUS is just really niceGT RUS is just really niceGT RUS is just really nice
Which 997 TT is faster Manual or Tips ???

From a dig and rolling start 6 speed or Tip ???

Many magazines and Porsche states that Tip 997 TT is faster, is that true and why ???

Old 04-16-2008, 01:01 PM
skyytek is infamous around these parts
Originally Posted by GT RUS
From a dig and rolling start 6 speed or Tip ???

Many magazines and Porsche states that Tip 997 TT is faster, is that true and why ???
Probably because it changes gears faster than someone can with a manual. But I am no expert - not taken delivery of mine yet. Top end though - they are probably about the same.

Old 04-16-2008, 01:41 PM
GT RUS is just really niceGT RUS is just really niceGT RUS is just really niceGT RUS is just really niceGT RUS is just really nice
I dont know...that is why I am aksing I just know that Porsche claim Tips be faster then 6 sp manual 0-62 by 0.2 sec...3.7 vs 3.9 and same 0-120 I think and even mid range pull if faster but I dont know why

Can anyone explain please...I wanna buy the one which is faster

Old 04-16-2008, 02:29 PM
gmoney Is a GOD !gmoney Is a GOD !gmoney Is a GOD !gmoney Is a GOD !gmoney Is a GOD !gmoney Is a GOD !gmoney Is a GOD !gmoney Is a GOD !gmoney Is a GOD !gmoney Is a GOD !gmoney Is a GOD !
In a perfect world, from a dead stop the tip is faster. You can break launch it and build boost thus getting a better hole shot. The Tip also does not lose boost between shifts. On the move this advantage is reduced. It has nothing to do with shift speed.