6speed Technical Information forum This area is intended for members to post their technical questions that will be answered by anonymous experts posting as 411. Members may provide knowledge but sponsors are asked to not post in this forum.

996tt low boost after build p0238 p1136 p0300 p0301-303

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-20-2016, 12:29 PM
EURASIAN is infamous around these parts
996tt low boost after build p0238 p1136 p0300 p0301-303

Need some help, I don't post much but I read a lot and I cant seem to find anything on this. Working on 2004 996tt just rebuilt the engine due to # 6 rod failure. I can't get it to make boost. Car is modded with k24 turbos, AP y-pipe,5 bar fuel press regulator, Ap air box and fabspeed exhaust, AP diverter valves, Pauter rods. I am a 20yr Porsche tech and have built many engines. All that said this is where I'm at.
No codes at idle, Turbos spin freely waste gates are closed, Passes both smoke and pressure test @20psi. Since it is known that tuned cars eat maf I have swapped with a known good unit = boost sometimes if ease into throttle. Also would make boost high rpm but not clean kinda broken up. Threw p1508 in limp mode until clear code. Swap MAP = no change, Check diverter valves closed like they are suppose to be , even block off = no boost. Swap n75 = no boost. Replace spark plugs coil packs look good = no boost.
Im thinking this maybe of some issue camshaft deviation b2 is -6 while b1 is 2ish. Actual angle is 0 at idle and both climb to 30deg when reved. All seems to be fine. I just remember that on 7.8dme that the threshold is 5deg on NA cars not sure if it applies to turbo cars. My problem is that its b2 that is -6 and misfires are on b1. I have yet to have a Cam retard code. I know it is probably something simple Im just running out of ideas and about to pull engine and go over every detail.

Last edited by EURASIAN; 04-20-2016 at 12:30 PM. Reason: bad speller
Old 04-20-2016, 05:24 PM