911 1964- to current Porsche 911, from the air-cooled days to the current 997

Interested in Purchasing a Older 911 But Have Some Questions...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-02-2008, 08:47 AM
WickedGrip23 is infamous around these parts
Interested in Purchasing a Older 911 But Have Some Questions...

Okay lets start out with some basic info about me, as it could play a role in this decision. I'm a college student (19) and my previous car was a 04 Subaru WRX STi (sold a couple months ago). I always work on my own cars and love doing that, its a passion. I'm hoping this is possible with the Porsche instead of going to the dealership/shop because of issues.

I was originally interested in purchasing a 944 Turbo (951) but have heard they are unreliable and upkeep and buying parts are ridiculously expensive. So bad as to keep the car running perfectly and trouble free; it will out cost the car itself. This would be a problem. If these facts are true or not I dont know but it turned me off the 944 Turbo (951).

Now this gets me to the 84-89 911 Carrera. I know the 87-89 version is very popular because of the G50 transmission. From what Ive read these cars are very reliable and not bad maintenance and upkeep wise, parts are fairly "cheap". Ive heard of some people having 200K+miles on their original motors. Is this true and what else should I know about this car in terms of maintenance, parts, upkeep, reliability, and etc? Any other info is welcome, I need as much info as I can get.

Thanks for reading and sorry for the long post. Hopefully a soon to be 911 owner.

These are the two Im looking at right now, opinions welcome:

http://www.autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.js...ce=&cardist=82

http://www.autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.js...ce=&cardist=36

Last edited by WickedGrip23; 06-02-2008 at 11:06 AM.
Old 06-02-2008, 10:44 AM
Hobby Logger is just really niceHobby Logger is just really niceHobby Logger is just really niceHobby Logger is just really nice