Anyone have any experience with the Dr color chip kit?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-06-2012, 11:49 AM
Neil Mccauley is a jewel in the roughNeil Mccauley is a jewel in the roughNeil Mccauley is a jewel in the roughNeil Mccauley is a jewel in the rough
Question Anyone have any experience with the Dr color chip kit?

So I ordered this chip kit because I noticed some small chips in the front bumper (real tiny, nothing that you can notice til you put your face like 5 inches away from the chip). I've never used this kit before but I like the fact that they color match your exact paint (mine is MS7 agate grey) and from the vids and pics they posted, it looks good. They do have a disclaimer that says that you can only see the repair from real close, which is realistically what I expect. The clearcoat is mixed in with the paint so at least they make it easy. I orderd the squeegy which helps to flatten the bead so it blends in more. Anyone with any experience / comments on this kit?

Old 10-06-2012, 04:14 PM
KonaKai has much to be proud ofKonaKai has much to be proud ofKonaKai has much to be proud ofKonaKai has much to be proud ofKonaKai has much to be proud ofKonaKai has much to be proud ofKonaKai has much to be proud ofKonaKai has much to be proud ofKonaKai has much to be proud ofKonaKai has much to be proud of
I've used the kit on my 997, not for small chips (which I just lived with) but rather for larger ones and scratches. I was happy enough with the results, especially weighed against the cost of a respray, but don't expect miracles. Also, you might consider a clear bra at least on the bumper or those chips will just keep coming and coming - unavoidable in these cars.

Old 10-06-2012, 05:19 PM
Rocket_boy has a spectacular aura aboutRocket_boy has a spectacular aura about