993 Last generation normally aspirated aircooled Porsche 911. Community includes the C2, C2s, C4, Targa, C4s and cabriolet discussion.

daily driver..?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-20-2010, 09:12 PM
mrx733 is infamous around these parts
daily driver..?

Hey its my first time posting on the forum, im a bmw guy, but love and respect the Porsche. Ive been thinking about getting a 993 for quite some time now but im not to educated with them. my question is this, i couldnt find anything when i searched, how many people drive their 993's daily, and would you recommend it as a daily or a weekend car. and for the people who drive them daily (if any) what upgrades do you have done? thanks in advance.

Old 02-21-2010, 09:34 AM
DougM is infamous around these parts
I purchased my 71k mile '95 1 year ago and have been driving it daily. No issues at all. I have debated about selling it for a 996 Turbo but I just can't pull the trigger. I know the turbo is way more fast, comfortable etc...., except I really like the old school ways of the 993. The AC and heat both work well compared to some previous gen 911's I have owned. I am still looking at Turbos, but I don't know if I will.
I sold my BMW 740i sport after I got the 993 and have not regretted it for a single minute.

Old 02-21-2010, 08:17 PM
dkp993 is infamous around these parts
Daily drove my 993 for almost 5 yrs. Ran like a top the entire time. No issues at all except for the trips to Costco or home depot. 993's aren't exactly made for hauling stuff. lol.

Old 02-21-2010, 09:04 PM
TorqueChap has much to be proud ofTorqueChap has much to be proud ofTorqueChap has much to be proud ofTorqueChap has much to be proud ofTorqueChap has much to be proud ofTorqueChap has much to be proud ofTorqueChap has much to be proud ofTorqueChap has much to be proud ofTorqueChap has much to be proud of
One of my DDs is a '98 C4S Aero. A quick topline of my experiences: