996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Ring And Pinion Gear Destroyed!!!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-14-2008, 03:42 PM
tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !
Ring And Pinion Gear Destroyed!!!

Well just came from the shop to check on my Guard 50/80 LSD that was going into the tranny and going RWD.
Well the tranny was not in the car but on the bench.
Well I am no mechanic but I thought the LSD didnt require the tranny removal! Well it doesnt. the tranny had metal shavings so it was pulled.
all gears perfect as well as syncros, oil like new (changed after every event)
and pinion gear destroyed, eaten up, teeth broken.

Pics to follow, with the above info, any reason why this happened?
fluid changed every event car never on track for more than 30 minutes to avoid heat, and running basic k-24 hybrids so no mad power.

reasons and solutions welcome, and yea I know I break alot of stuff!!

thanks in advance

tom

ok I edited this to add the pics

Last edited by tom kerr; 05-14-2008 at 05:32 PM.
Old 05-14-2008, 03:47 PM
jimmer23 Is a GOD !jimmer23 Is a GOD !jimmer23 Is a GOD !jimmer23 Is a GOD !jimmer23 Is a GOD !jimmer23 Is a GOD !jimmer23 Is a GOD !jimmer23 Is a GOD !jimmer23 Is a GOD !jimmer23 Is a GOD !jimmer23 Is a GOD !
Man Tom, sucks to hear. You didn't have any symptoms? Drove and shifted fine? Odd right...

Old 05-14-2008, 03:50 PM