996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Newer 911TT Driving style/line

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-26-2004, 06:22 AM
ColorChange is infamous around these parts
Newer 911TT Driving style/line

I am new to the 911TT and trying to learn how to drive it properly. It appears that you trail brake less than mid engined cars, and that probably the most important thing is getting on the throttle as early as possible. This does 2 things, settles the car, and uses the huge acceleration potential to it's greatest advantage. To do this, I am thinking you probably brake a little deeper and harder than normal, and aim for a later apex so that you can be on the throttle well before the apex. At this point, you can use the throttle to drive the car. If you lift slightly, the rear end rotates and then when it is where you want it, you squeeze hard and do a big drift to track out and are gone. Is this correct?

Old 07-26-2004, 08:02 AM
SteveH has much to be proud ofSteveH has much to be proud ofSteveH has much to be proud ofSteveH has much to be proud ofSteveH has much to be proud ofSteveH has much to be proud ofSteveH has much to be proud ofSteveH has much to be proud ofSteveH has much to be proud of
As far as exits go, in the GT2 i definitely try to apex as late as possible and get on the throttle hard. the later the apex, the more throttle i can give it without worrying about ending up off track.

mid corner the car definitely responds well to throttle inputs. I rarely adjust the steering in turns. However, i like to keep the car much more neutral than you are describing. when relying on the rear end to "come around" i have found that the car often over-rotates and has to be powered back into place. This undoubtedly loses time. i'm sure the TT snaps over much less though.

From what i can imagine of the dynamics of the TT it sounds like your plan is a decently good one.

Old 07-26-2004, 09:50 PM