996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

The do's and dont's of driving a 996TT??

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-14-2008, 02:45 AM
adam699 Is a GOD !adam699 Is a GOD !adam699 Is a GOD !adam699 Is a GOD !adam699 Is a GOD !adam699 Is a GOD !adam699 Is a GOD !adam699 Is a GOD !adam699 Is a GOD !adam699 Is a GOD !adam699 Is a GOD !
The do's and dont's of driving a 996TT??

So..since I'm a newb to the 996tt i figured I'd ask....I'm sure there's some experianced drivers here that will agree that the car is not like any other car...

So how do you drive it, without getting in trouble and loosing control?

Old 09-14-2008, 03:15 AM
Mike (La Jolla) is infamous around these parts
Driving a 996TT ...

I'll start. I've had 2 996TT's (5 years in total), the first a stock version and the second a chipped X50. I'm now in a 997GT3.

- shift using the 'heartbeat method'. If you haven't gotten the message, the transmissions on these things *SUCK UTTERLY*, and Porsche hasn't stood behind the product. You do any short shifting between first and second, you will burn up the transmission quickly.

- I can't tell from you question if you are new to high HP cars. Be aware of the power. This is a fast car. When you floor it, nothing happens until the turbos spool up, and then you rocket forward. You can get into deep trouble very quickly. Save the speed for the track.

- Do not EVER turn off PSM. This statement will elicit a howl here, but if you are good enough to drive a 996TT with it off, you have bought the wrong car. The limits of PSM are very loose and will help you only when you need it. This includes DE's at the track. If you intend to race, again, you have the wrong car. I would note that PSM is much better than the BMW equivalent DSC.

- This is a heavy car and a bit numb, so apexs are different than say, a Lotus Elise. Be aware of this. It will take some experimentation.