996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

How do I tell if a bank check is real?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-16-2009, 05:51 AM
cybersam69 is infamous around these partscybersam69 is infamous around these parts
How do I tell if a bank check is real?

I am expecting to sell my car today. Finally. Hooray!

I have never done this before, and I think I have all my bases covered, but I do have 1 question.

The buyer is coming to my house with a certified bank check. And when he hands it to me, other than me looking at it, how can I tell if it's real? Can I call the bank that issued the check? I don't know the buyer from a hole in the wall. He seems like a nice guy, but what the hell do I know?

Should I ask him to come to my bank with me while I deposit the check?

Advice please.

Would love as much feedback as possible by 12pm TODAY!!

Old 01-16-2009, 05:57 AM
ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !
Originally Posted by cybersam69
I am expecting to sell my car today. Finally. Hooray!

I have never done this before, and I think I have all my bases covered, but I do have 1 question.

The buyer is coming to my house with a certified bank check. And when he hands it to me, other than me looking at it, how can I tell if it's real? Can I call the bank that issued the check? I don't know the buyer from a hole in the wall. He seems like a nice guy, but what the hell do I know?

Should I ask him to come to my bank with me while I deposit the check?

Advice please. Would love as much feedback as possible by 12pm TODAY!!