996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Practical Horsepower

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-17-2009, 08:19 AM
Bluecuda is infamous around these parts
Practical Horsepower

With everything in Texas being bigger and better, I was just pondering how much is too much. Driving in this morning I was breaking all 4 wheels loose at 50mph in 2nd gear, and started thinking about how much horsepower is really practical and usable.

So, how much is too much? Is there suspension and/or tire setups that can help apply more power to the street/track? I usually send these types of questions to Tym, but I often feel like I'm pestering him and wasting his time. He tells me I'm not, but I'm sure he thinks I'm a newb

Old 03-17-2009, 08:41 AM
jcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond repute
I think my SCCA champion x 3 friend said it well...300hp on the street is plenty to get in trouble.

For these cars, I think 500hp is plenty. I am in a minority. It does mean I am less likely to break things....and thus I'll not run into a big expensive "boom" I hope.

At VIR more on the big straight would have been nice, but mostly suspension (and seat time) is what the car needed. It has that now. I think I had plenty of power for my needs. Probably 1.5x what I need to be honest at my skill level. I am out there to have fun. No racing in my future.

JB

Last edited by jcb-memphis; 03-17-2009 at 09:46 AM.
Old 03-17-2009, 09:14 AM