996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Good OBD2 scan tool?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-01-2009, 08:53 AM
supedgte is infamous around these parts
Good OBD2 scan tool?

Hi Fellas -

I'm new to the Porsche turbo world and wanted to see if anyone can give me some input as to a good OBD2 scanner.

Just something standard, nothing fancy, to read codes and maybe clear them. Looking to spend maybe $150...any suggestions? I saw autozone had some and so does amazon. Just not sure which to go with. Would be nice to plug into my wife's car when it has CEL lights too.

Old 04-01-2009, 08:59 AM
Powell Is a GOD !Powell Is a GOD !Powell Is a GOD !Powell Is a GOD !Powell Is a GOD !Powell Is a GOD !Powell Is a GOD !Powell Is a GOD !Powell Is a GOD !Powell Is a GOD !Powell Is a GOD !
I'd honestly go with a Durametric. It can do all the code reading and logging at the same time!

Old 04-01-2009, 09:11 AM
rolfjahn is a splendid one to beholdrolfjahn is a splendid one to beholdrolfjahn is a splendid one to beholdrolfjahn is a splendid one to beholdrolfjahn is a splendid one to beholdrolfjahn is a splendid one to beholdrolfjahn is a splendid one to behold
+1 durametric-best solution for the money (used it last night to identify a o2 sensor connection)

http://www.durametric.com/ $287

Old 04-01-2009, 11:20 AM
But these are Porsche specific aren't they?

I would prefer to buy something like a generic code reader an autoshop might use. Just something to know what codes the car is throwing to give me direction as to the fix...and maybe to clear the code too if need be.

Old 04-01-2009, 11:28 AM
rolfjahn is a splendid one to beholdrolfjahn is a splendid one to beholdrolfjahn is a splendid one to beholdrolfjahn is a splendid one to beholdrolfjahn is a splendid one to beholdrolfjahn is a splendid one to beholdrolfjahn is a splendid one to behold
Originally Posted by supedgte