996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Fuel pressure question/Diagnostics

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-14-2009, 05:35 PM
Brad Bedell is a splendid one to beholdBrad Bedell is a splendid one to beholdBrad Bedell is a splendid one to beholdBrad Bedell is a splendid one to beholdBrad Bedell is a splendid one to beholdBrad Bedell is a splendid one to beholdBrad Bedell is a splendid one to beholdBrad Bedell is a splendid one to behold
Fuel pressure question/Diagnostics & Solution

Having a bit of a hard start issue once the car sits for more than 5-8 minutes, warm or cold.

Test scenario:
Car running at idle, I see 45-48psi at the fuel filter fitting. This seems about right. When I turn the car off, pressure drops to zero within 5 seconds. While I'm new to the Porsche, I am not new to fuel injection. This seems a bit odd to me. Even with the pump off, my Lexus and Toyota cars manage to hold 30-40psi in the rails after sitting over night. There are a few more things I want to check before I start looking for a leaking part, but wanted to run it across some of the great minds here.

Does this fuel pressure bleed off issue seem inconstant with other 996 Turbos? If so, I presume I need to look at the fuel system front to rear. Which means, pull the pump, replace the commonly faulty hoses and work to the back of the car. I don't believe injectors to be leaking, as I don't smell raw fuel, nor do I have a once cylinder rich issue (based on the plug readings)

Thanks in advance!

-Brad

Last edited by Brad Bedell; 06-15-2009 at 10:14 PM.
Old 06-14-2009, 05:47 PM
Administrator
GT3 Chuck Is a GOD !GT3 Chuck Is a GOD !GT3 Chuck Is a GOD !GT3 Chuck Is a GOD !GT3 Chuck Is a GOD !GT3 Chuck Is a GOD !GT3 Chuck Is a GOD !GT3 Chuck Is a GOD !GT3 Chuck Is a GOD !GT3 Chuck Is a GOD !GT3 Chuck Is a GOD !