996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Definitive 2005 996 Turbo "S" Flash Guide

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-29-2009, 06:40 AM
ShokWaveRider is a name known to allShokWaveRider is a name known to allShokWaveRider is a name known to allShokWaveRider is a name known to allShokWaveRider is a name known to allShokWaveRider is a name known to all
Definitive 2005 996 Turbo "S" 6 Speed Flash Guide

Or at least this is what I would like this thread to turn out to be. I am in the final stages of selecting my flash vendor. I think I have made up my mind but I would like some more info before I pull the trigger.

What I am trying to establish are the following data about any / all flash vendor contendors. Sorry folks I am an Engineer and need facts a data. I have done limited research on them as of now.

I would encourage both vendors and users who have their products that they are happy with to contribute. I would not mind betting a lot of folk (No disrespect intended) do not really know all the info about their car's flash setup other than stated HP gain.

My setup is basic stock 2005 996 turbo S 6 Speed with the following mods:
  • FABSPEED MaxFlo Exhaust System
  • Stock Wastegate Actuators (adjusted to 8.5 psi crack)
  • Billet diverter Valves
  • Stock AirBox, MAF & Fuel Regulator
I plan on adding 1 Bar Wastegate Actuators and water injection at some point. I have had good experience with water injection on other Turbo vehicles.

I would rather get 1 flash to cater for my goals, as opposed to getting it tuned as needed.

Here is my list current of FLASH contenders. (Could be Expanded) They are all within my price range, I am personally looking for a solution under $1500:

Please help with updated pricing, these were just got off the web.

UMW - ($1295)
Softronic - ($1549 Sale Price)
EPL - ($1299)
GIAC - ($2500 +)
Upsolute - ($699 ??? Platinum 550hp Do not know about turbo S specific)