996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Recommended mods for track use?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-31-2009, 09:46 AM
docwyte is a name known to alldocwyte is a name known to alldocwyte is a name known to alldocwyte is a name known to alldocwyte is a name known to alldocwyte is a name known to all
Recommended mods for track use?

So I'm in the process of looking for a 996tt to replace my E46 M3. I'm an instructor for NASA and do 6-8 track weekends a season with my M3, which has coilovers, camber plates, etc, etc, etc.

I'd like to run the 996tt basically stock with the exception of brake pads and tires the first season to get a feel for what it does and needs.

After that, what is recommended? I'm assuming brakes are fine with proper track pads. Anything need reinforcing, like adding another oil cooler, more ducts, etc, etc?

What about suspension? Can you get enough camber without having to get different control arms? If not, and if you can't use camber plates, how do you swap between your track alignment and street alignment?

Any other advice appreciated!

Old 12-31-2009, 10:57 AM
jcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond reputejcb-memphis has a reputation beyond repute
Safety stuff.... cg lock at first, then a full system.
Suspension. I have JIC, sways f/r, links, adjustable arms in rear, corner balanced and lowered.
Pads/SRF work for me and then you can get some gt3's calipers up front/2 pc rotors....but the stock brakes with good pads and good fluid are very, very good.