996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Weird handling behavior

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-11-2010, 08:13 PM
pwarnery is infamous around these parts
Weird handling behavior

on the way back from work this evening, I coasted into a freeway downhill ramp, probably a little over 100MPH and as I went through the left hander the psm activated maybe half a dozen times and as a result the car was a little unsettled. My thought were this car doesn't handle worth nothing. I have gone through this corner many many times, on 1000cc superbikes and an evo 9 MR and so eventhough it isn't the smoothest pavement wise, and I expect coasting at 100mph is not the best way to go through a corner. The car did something similar in a slow 180 degrees hairpin at maybe 30mph a couple of days ago, activating the psm. To me there was no need for psm activation. Now I am new to P cars. Any feed back would be great.

Old 03-11-2010, 08:17 PM
SAVED4IT is infamous around these parts
I had weird PSM behavior prior to swapping out a bent toe arm on the rear. It was causing one of the wheels to angle out a couple degrees. Since that, I have not had odd PSM behavior.

Old 03-11-2010, 08:25 PM
Weird handling

I also think the front shocks on the car are absolutely shot. Even if I sit on the fender there is no movement. Whenever I hit a medium size road imperfection a massive thump reverberates through the chassis. It feels as if the front shocks have no bump stops.

Old 03-11-2010, 09:00 PM
rh888888 is infamous around these partsrh888888 is infamous around these parts
are the tires new? When I bought my car the PSM would trip out, new tires have a coating on them that makes them slick and this trips out the PSM till this wears off.

Old 03-11-2010, 11:17 PM