996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Worth Porting Stock Headers??

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-26-2011, 03:25 PM
johnspeed Is a GOD !johnspeed Is a GOD !johnspeed Is a GOD !johnspeed Is a GOD !johnspeed Is a GOD !johnspeed Is a GOD !johnspeed Is a GOD !johnspeed Is a GOD !johnspeed Is a GOD !johnspeed Is a GOD !johnspeed Is a GOD !
Worth Porting Stock Headers??

HEY GUYS,,,,,I just bought a set off stock exhaust manifolds/headers from a member.I was going to port them and swap them with my original ones....BUT I can tell you,,, by looking at these,,,That I do not think that there is that much weld in the exhaust ports area and the collecter area welds to make a whole heck of a lot of difference....Unless, some of these production ones vary from one to another??...I am not an engineer by any means but I do know high performance engine blue printing....Yes ,I know every little bit helps...But I can see here that these welds in this set have little excess build up to cause a noticable restriction.......Like I said they may vary??..Also remember that those very hot gases are so condensed then in that area and have a lot of flow velocity that they sorta glide and shape to the contour of there path,Actually they skim ever so slightly above the surface in that state....Believe me,I did not spend the money for these and the Porsche gaskets to be second guessing this mod now........Maybe I might be missing something here,if not......I hope I helped with this info.......

Old 01-26-2011, 03:36 PM
earl3 Is a GOD !earl3 Is a GOD !earl3 Is a GOD !earl3 Is a GOD !earl3 Is a GOD !earl3 Is a GOD !earl3 Is a GOD !earl3 Is a GOD !earl3 Is a GOD !earl3 Is a GOD !earl3 Is a GOD !
some are worse than others, but Kevin @ UMW swears by this mod. I would clean them up a bit but not to the point of grinding through the weld.

here's a few pics of what they normally look like: