996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

performance mechanic in columbus central ohio area

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-12-2012, 10:46 AM
DougA is infamous around these parts
performance mechanic in columbus central ohio area

hi everyone,

my first post, mainly because im rather new to the porsche community. long story short, i now have a 2003 twin-turbo 911. while i know jeeps and old vettes, the 911 is an entirely new and much higher level of performance than what im used to working on. so, i need a highly recommended mechanic in the central ohio area. the car just needs a basic going-over. nothing is wrong with it, as far as i can tell. but, given my lack of knowledge about porsches, i thought maybe i should have a performance mechanic go over the car before i keep driving it on weekends (its not my dd).

i searched the forums and found this posting:
https://www.6speedonline.com/forums/...done-ohio.html

switzer and steinel are mentioned a few times in the forums, but they are in the cleveland area.

has anyone ever used innovative performance solutions (north columbus)?
http://www.ipsmotorsports.net/

what about the certified porsche mechanics at byers and midwestern auto group?

thanks for any advice.
doug

Last edited by GT3 Chuck; 03-12-2012 at 11:45 AM. Reason: active link to a commercial non-sponsor
Old 03-12-2012, 12:34 PM
grayman is a jewel in the roughgrayman is a jewel in the roughgrayman is a jewel in the rough
Doug, I'm from Cleveland, but belong to the local PCA chapter (Mid-Ohio PCA)

I've heard from local guys that Auto Assets does decent work, as well as an outfit call Kraftwerks. I've not heard anyone report being unhappy with Byers or MAG.

I personally use Steinels and Autoban Extremist. Switzer specializes in turbo Porsches, and everyone seems to rave about them.

Good luck. You should join Mid Ohio PCA. Good times.

Old 03-12-2012, 01:03 PM