996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Sanity Check - Looking at buying a 996 turbo

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-18-2013, 09:51 AM
mightydave is infamous around these parts
Sanity Check - Looking at buying a 996 turbo

Hey Guys,

First post on here but not a newbie when it comes to car purchasing. But I am a complete newbie on the Porsche hunt/purchasing front.

Like many guys, the 911 Turbo has always been a dream car of mine. I have wanted the 996 version since they came out and now I'm starting to see that it's an imminently reachable goal.

My current DD is an '09 Audi S5 which I love. I have a restored '79 Scout as my fun truck (and winter get around car). So I now really feel like this would be the time to go hunting for the 911.

I've done a lot of car purchasing in the last 11 years (24 cars over that period) so I'm familiar with the idea of PPIs, reading the various stickies on the popular forums (like this one) and reading through threads to find common problems and things to avoid - so I think I'm covered there. What I'd really like some opinions on is this:

1) While I know the 911 turbo is far beyond what I have now, am I crazy to leave the S5 behind and pay more money for a much older car? That's my sanity question. My wife is fully behind me, so I don't have that to worry about. I don't think it's crazy, and it's the reason I've spent the last many nights checking sites to see if there are any new listings.

2) I'm interested to hear what worked for others in my similar situation. More anecdotally than anything. It may make me feel better (not that I need much of a push) to hear of other guys struggling with the same or similar moves and ultimately making the move.