996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Evoms

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-27-2006, 01:06 AM
Banned for Good.
ohioko4s4 is infamous around these parts
Evoms

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the 996/GT2 scene. I am finalizing a deal on a GT2 this week and I'm trying to decide between the hybrid k24 Protomotive kit and the EVOMS GT700. I am buying the car as a nice weather daily driver....although for those who know me...know it will see a fair share of weekend highway/drag racing as well. I've heard good things about both kits and have had good discussions so far with Alex (Sharkwerks) and Todd (Protomotive). Like most folks, I'm looking for reliable horsepower and both seem to make similar peak whp figures in the low 600's on 103 when tuned correctly. However, I have heard the Protomotive kits have better power curves and are relatively a bit faster.

Can anyone share their personal perspectives on each kit? NOTE: I'm not looking to start a tuning war, just looking for real world experience. Thanks everyone!

I look forward to sharing my build progress as it happens!

Jamie

Old 09-27-2006, 01:43 AM
Basic Sponsor
markski@markskituning Is a GOD !markski@markskituning Is a GOD !markski@markskituning Is a GOD !markski@markskituning Is a GOD !markski@markskituning Is a GOD !markski@markskituning Is a GOD !markski@markskituning Is a GOD !markski@markskituning Is a GOD !markski@markskituning Is a GOD !markski@markskituning Is a GOD !markski@markskituning Is a GOD !
Both kits seem to produce the same trap speeds at the 1/4 mile.. 135 mph.
Apparently Divirexxtreme(protomotive) is the fastest documented stock internals 1/4 car running 10.67.. meanwhile sharky ran a 10.65 on a gt800(built bottom end)... most evoms gt700s run 10.8s ... excluding gt2s... Joe I think ran a 10.7 in his gt2 ... however, divirexxtreme is RWD.