996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Connecting rods on 996/GT2

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-13-2006, 07:20 AM
Dr_jitsu Is a GOD !Dr_jitsu Is a GOD !Dr_jitsu Is a GOD !Dr_jitsu Is a GOD !Dr_jitsu Is a GOD !Dr_jitsu Is a GOD !Dr_jitsu Is a GOD !Dr_jitsu Is a GOD !Dr_jitsu Is a GOD !Dr_jitsu Is a GOD !Dr_jitsu Is a GOD !
Connecting rods on 996/GT2

Hello again,

First, pardon my ignorance because I am brand new to the Porsche community.

Are the connecting rods on the 2002 GT2 engine the same as the connecting rods on the 2002 996TT? I ask because I read on the EVO website that the 996TT rods are good for about 750 hp. I assume they mean flywheel, which means about 620 to the rear wheels.

I ask because (as mentioned in other threads) I am preparing to purchase a modified GT2 (Garret 700 turbos) that puts a dyno confirmed 600 to the wheels on high boost (500 on low where I will most likely do much of my driving). Nonetheless, I am PARANOID about throwing a rod and blowing an engine (comes from my background in VQ land...the home of pencil thin rods although an otherwise excellent motor).

Again, please excuse my ignorance.....so tell me, is the GT2 motor different internally from the 996TT?

I know that the GT2 motor I am looking to purchase is the stock motor internally, w/ only 2800....I have also heard that the motor is quite bullitproof...have many 500whp plus engines (and I know the pool of modified GT2's is quite small) blown? In the VQ world, a stock motor w/ 500 to the wheels, unless it is re-built by my friends at SGP racing, will eventually bend a rod.

What are the chances of blowing a GT2 w/ 600 to the wheels? I know that the key is the tune. I am definately going to reasearch the tune/tuner for this car.

Thanks in adavnce, the people here are great!

Old 11-13-2006, 08:39 AM
cjv