996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Headers?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-01-2006, 12:18 AM
rad
rad is infamous around these parts
Headers?

I'm a newbie with a 2001 996TT. Planning on upgrading to K16/K24 hybrid, europipe exhaust and ECU upgrade (already have stage 1 GIAC ECU upgrade and had to replace diverter valves ). My goal is about 600hp.

My questions are these:

1) aftermarket headers versus ported OEM headers? I realize this was discussed in another thread and the general opinion seemed to be to port the OEMs? Any disagreement?

2) What are the benefits and drawbacks (other than cost) of ceramic coating?

3) What air intake systems do people favor - I'm leaning towards Evo

4) Have any of you had issues with check engine lights using european 100 cell cats?

Thanks

Old 12-01-2006, 12:27 AM
sharkster Is a GOD !sharkster Is a GOD !sharkster Is a GOD !sharkster Is a GOD !sharkster Is a GOD !sharkster Is a GOD !sharkster Is a GOD !sharkster Is a GOD !sharkster Is a GOD !sharkster Is a GOD !sharkster Is a GOD !
Ceramic coating won't buy you much on this car- spend the time/money on other stuff. Never had any issues with 100 cell cats. At a stage IV the intake should be fine (people with GT700s have had issues with the MAF going but not at your level) and in terms of the "headers" you'l hear different camps.

1)Some will say "don't do headers" the factory ones are great etc... and just port them.
2)Others will say get some longer tube equal length headers with fancy merge collectors.

I've used both and I will say it depends on the application. Right now I have pretty large turbos and the factory headers choke. I gained quite a bit from jumping to larger primaries and so forth. On a K16/24 hybrid you're still dealing with a pretty small turbo. I've seen dynos that have shown about 20-25hp more and about 200 rpms less lag with different headers....

Old 12-01-2006, 12:38 AM