996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Battery Help Needed Please Read

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-29-2006, 05:55 PM
marco_polo is infamous around these parts
Battery Help Needed Please Read

Hi everyone,
My Porsche OEM battery died so I purchased an Interstate Mega Tron Plus (MTP-93) today. I was told this is a direct replacement for the Porsche OEM battery. My two questions are:

1. On the Porsche battery there was a small clear tube connected to the side of the battery. There is no such tube connection on the new Interstate Battery. What do I do?

2. How do I avoid having to enter my GPS and Radio Codes when I switch batteries? I have a Porsche TechEquip Battery Maintainer, can I use this to keep power to the car while I replace the battery?? If so, is there any general precautions when doing this.

Thanks everyone, I am trying to be a "Do It Yourselfer" I'm just new at this.

Marc.

Old 12-29-2006, 06:30 PM
ebaker is infamous around these parts
My interstate (Costco) battery had the vent partially covered by the center battery label. The battery had a piece of tubing and hose adapter in a plastic bag that was taped to the battery,

Old 12-29-2006, 08:04 PM
tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !tom kerr Is a GOD !
get a car jumper pack (like the tow truck guys and I have) plug into cig lighter and it will keep everything powered while you take out the batteries.
I prefer the optima red top myself.

Old 12-30-2006, 08:30 PM
gtr
gtr has a spectacular aura aboutgtr has a spectacular aura aboutgtr has a spectacular aura about
Originally Posted by tom kerr
get a car jumper pack (like the tow truck guys and I have) plug into cig lighter and it will keep everything powered while you take out the batteries.
I prefer the optima red top myself.