996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

in the market for 996

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-10-2007, 11:48 PM
xcusemi is infamous around these parts
in the market for 996

Hello all:

I am in the market for the 996 and would like to get some suggestion form the you guys. I was wondering whether there is a big different in term of power between the 3.4 and 3.6? I know there are only 20-30 hrs different, but I just want to know in term of the feel?

Since I am very new to 911, I want to know if there anything I should be looking for before purchase the car? Any known problems that should or need to be addressed?

Thank you very much in advance.

Old 10-11-2007, 09:19 AM
DaveMo is infamous around these partsDaveMo is infamous around these parts
The larger engine went in in 2002. But that wasn't the only change. There were a number of improvements to the car......

From the sales '02 brochure: ...headlight system derived from the 911 Turbo. More discreet is the careful reshaping of the front and rear fenders, bumpers and air dam. The result is 25% less lift in the front and 40% less lift at the rear for improved high speed stability.... Reinforcements to the body structure have resulted in a 25% increase in torsional rigidity for crisper response and enhanced agility. The standard 17" wheels weigh almost eight pounds less than the previous design, while the optional 18" wheels are lighter by over 24 pounds. The front air ducts have been reshaped to increase the flow of cooling air to the radiators by 15%"