996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

Need new suspension

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-12-2011, 03:49 PM
cmer is infamous around these parts
Need new suspension

Hi all,

My 1999 996 C2 Cab needs a suspension overhaul it seems. The car feels very bumpy, the steering wheel turns/shakes at every little bump and the springs started squeaking recently. My other car is a BMW 3 series and the handling of my 996 feels like a piece of crap compared to the beamer.

I'm not looking to spend a lot of money on my P, but I was something good. Great value/bang for my buck basically.

What do you recommend? Also, which part should I change? Just the coils and springs, or is there something else I should consider changing? I'm no mechanic but I like to buy parts myself to save money and to make sure I buy the best I can get for my $.

Also, is it a waste of money to do the rear as well? It's hard to know if the rear is due, but I assume so...

Thanks so much in advance! I must need the help/tips!

Old 07-12-2011, 04:09 PM
gsieck is infamous around these parts
Mileage?

Old 07-12-2011, 05:28 PM
Hard to say. Odometer says 40k miles, but I suspect it's more around 80-100k.

Originally Posted by gsieck
Mileage?

Old 07-12-2011, 06:41 PM
02TX996Cab is a splendid one to behold02TX996Cab is a splendid one to behold02TX996Cab is a splendid one to behold02TX996Cab is a splendid one to behold02TX996Cab is a splendid one to behold02TX996Cab is a splendid one to behold02TX996Cab is a splendid one to behold02TX996Cab is a splendid one to behold
M030 RoW upgrade kit. For $1200 or so you get new struts and springs for all four corners, and front/rear anti-sway bars with bushings. You'll need to factor in installation labor if you don't do it yourself, and a four-wheel alignment.