996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

Wrapping the Ride- Is this a DIY?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-20-2012, 11:10 AM
ScoutsOut is infamous around these parts
Wrapping the Ride- Is this a DIY?

Thinking about wrapping my new to me 996. Called around, all the quotes I got were in the 2k - 4k range.

Is this something that is DIY'able? I mean, it doesn't look like rocket surgery or anything. I've put hood blackouts on several SUVs with great results, so I imagine this is more of less the same. I'm handy, and an artist/designer by trade, so I'm pretty good with stuff like this, as is my assistant, aka my wife.

On that note, how much square footage would I need for a 996? 20sqft seems right to me, but maybe that's too much? Not enough? I don't know.

Finally, an opinion question: I'm thinking of going either matte white or matte black with a CF hood, roof and taco spoiler. Have you guys seen 996s done this way, and what do you think of each choice? The car is currently black on stock turbo twists, but I'll probably swap those for some gunmetal or black wheels soon.

Am I insane for attempting this?

Old 01-20-2012, 11:17 AM
Former Vendor
Fabspeed Motorsport Is a GOD !Fabspeed Motorsport Is a GOD !Fabspeed Motorsport Is a GOD !Fabspeed Motorsport Is a GOD !Fabspeed Motorsport Is a GOD !Fabspeed Motorsport Is a GOD !Fabspeed Motorsport Is a GOD !Fabspeed Motorsport Is a GOD !Fabspeed Motorsport Is a GOD !Fabspeed Motorsport Is a GOD !Fabspeed Motorsport Is a GOD !
there is a reason companies charge $2000-$5000 for a full wrap job! It is NOT easy and NOT a quick process... I used to run a shop that did tint and clearbra and the technique to clearbra and wrap jobs is not an overnight thing. I am sure you could "do it", I wouldnt expect a professional looking job for your first time!

Old 01-20-2012, 11:40 AM
Former Vendor