996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

Need Opinion: Buy or Pass on 01 996

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-27-2012, 03:46 PM
cmweber is infamous around these parts
Need Opinion: Buy or Pass on 01 996

Hello folks,

Thanks in advance for the help. I'm new to Porsche (and certainly the 996), but I have been looking for a sports car and was amazed with my test drive on an 01 996 last week. I no longer have the desire for a Corvette (which was my first choice before last week).

Here's the problem:

This is an 01 996, and the IMS bearing has not been replaced. It has 91,500 miles on it. It also has upgraded 19" porsche wheels/tires. The current owner just had the clutch replaced last year (at 88,000 miles), and he did not have the IMS bearing upgraded. He said that his mechanic said that was not necessary unless the car is raced... He is the 2nd owner and used it as a DD on a short highway commute.

The car is beautifully kept (as far as I can tell), but I'm reading that the IMS problem seems random. With a new clutch, my next chance to combine maintenance will be at over 150,000 miles.

On a side note, the car cranks a little slowly. It starts every time, but it has somewhat of a slow sounding crank. He said it has done this the entire time he has owned it (4 years), and his mechanic said some porsches sound that way because of the high engine compression.

1. Would that scare you away from the car?
2. What else should I check for?
3. Is 18,000 a good price?

Thanks again

Old 05-27-2012, 04:45 PM
Reborn996 is a splendid one to beholdReborn996 is a splendid one to beholdReborn996 is a splendid one to beholdReborn996 is a splendid one to beholdReborn996 is a splendid one to beholdReborn996 is a splendid one to beholdReborn996 is a splendid one to behold