997 Turbo / GT2 2006–2012 Turbo discussion on the 997 model Porsche 911 Twin Turbo.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Bears Transport

997 turbo or turbo cab impressions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-09-2008, 08:51 PM
myphillylawyer is infamous around these parts
997 turbo or turbo cab impressions

good evening to the forum. This is my first post. I am currently an E55 driver. That relationship is coming to an end shortly. This is the time that I enjoythe most...figuring out what my next ride will be. I am considering an SL63, SL65, Aston DBS and DB9 as well as an 09 997 turbo and turbo cab.

By way of background I have an 08 S550 4matic and an 08 ML 350 that are used by the other members of my family. So having transportation in inclement weather isn't a concern. The car I buy will be my daily driver though.

The last time I owned a Porsche was a 1996 993 turbo in speed yellow. I recall my brief time with that car fondly. Though I also remember when I moved into a BMW thinking that the turbo (in retrospect) was a harsh ride. Of course the exuberant acceleration more than made up for the comfort.

Anyway, any thoughts from current owners would be greatly appreciated whether its reliability, handling, ease of driving on a daily basis, whatever you think would be on point let it rip...

Old 09-09-2008, 09:17 PM
E55AMG has much to be proud ofE55AMG has much to be proud ofE55AMG has much to be proud ofE55AMG has much to be proud ofE55AMG has much to be proud ofE55AMG has much to be proud ofE55AMG has much to be proud ofE55AMG has much to be proud ofE55AMG has much to be proud ofE55AMG has much to be proud of
while many use the TT as a daily driver (I don't), it will not be as comfortable as the SL or aston. Those cars also offer a more isolated feel and no where near the driver involvement. Really depends on what you are after. Have you test driven the TT yet?

Old 09-09-2008, 09:22 PM
myphillylawyer is infamous around these parts