997 Turbo / GT2 2006–2012 Turbo discussion on the 997 model Porsche 911 Twin Turbo.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Bears Transport

Exhaust DIY

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-05-2009, 07:28 AM
Webtool1 is infamous around these partsWebtool1 is infamous around these parts
Exhaust DIY

Ok folks I'm about ready to install a Switzer exhaust.
I have searched high an low on this site and others to find info about what is required. There is one excellent write up for a AWE system but it leaves a few questions.
I trust these question face everyone doing this. Here goes:

Can you unwind the O2 sensors with wire attached?
What is the benefit and deployment of a 22 mm crowsfoot wrench for the 02's, it is something I have never used before.
Would it be possible to loosen off the 13 mm flange bolts let the stock system droop to gain clearance to the sensors?
The upper outside 13mm turbo flange bolts look nearly impossible to get at with the bumper & side heat shield on, yet supposedly it can be done?
When I did my 996tt exhaust the rear heat shield seemed difficult to remove, the screws looked buried, was I missing something obvious?
I am a huge fan of using torch heat on stubborn nuts such as those frail looking flange bolts.
Any other helpful tips?
Thanks in advance,
Bob.

Old 11-05-2009, 10:35 AM
Arone997tt has much to be proud ofArone997tt has much to be proud ofArone997tt has much to be proud ofArone997tt has much to be proud ofArone997tt has much to be proud ofArone997tt has much to be proud ofArone997tt has much to be proud ofArone997tt has much to be proud ofArone997tt has much to be proud ofArone997tt has much to be proud of
just install fabspeed ver. 3 yesterday, I have to say getting stock system out wasn't fun. the bolts u r referring to just take some time, loosing bumper will make it much easier (just the black torx screws on black plastic. You are going to need the 02 wrench for sure

Old 11-05-2009, 10:53 AM