997 Turbo / GT2 2006–2012 Turbo discussion on the 997 model Porsche 911 Twin Turbo.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Bears Transport

996TT X50 or 997TT

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-25-2010, 09:53 PM
Tall T is infamous around these parts
996TT X50 or 997TT

Hi guys, I'm new to the world of Porsches but not to high powered sports cars. I've been lurking & learning for the last several months and am now ready to pull the trigger on a TT. I know there have been several threads here about the merits of the 996 TT vs the 997 TT & which is best or most cost effective or whatever. I've read them all. The answers usually come down to aesthetics, expected depreciation & personal preference (drive both & get the one you like).

I'm interested in hearing from the guys who have owned both. I imagine most will favor the 997 or you wouldn't have bought one. I'd really like to know why you favor the 997. I'm interested in hearing your thoughts on the differences in power, acceleration, handling, overall driving experience etc.

This weekend I'm driving an 03 996 X50 TT & an 07 997TT one right after the other. They are both bone stock. What should I be looking for?

Thanks for your help. I really appeciate it.

Old 02-26-2010, 08:01 AM
bbywu Is a GOD !bbywu Is a GOD !bbywu Is a GOD !bbywu Is a GOD !bbywu Is a GOD !bbywu Is a GOD !bbywu Is a GOD !bbywu Is a GOD !bbywu Is a GOD !bbywu Is a GOD !bbywu Is a GOD !
Originally Posted by Tall T
This weekend I'm driving an 03 996 X50 TT & an 07 997TT one right after the other. They are both bone stock. What should I be looking for?
What do you plan on doing with the car? Weekend driver? Daily driver? Plan on modding, keeping it stock? How important are aethetics to you?

Old 02-26-2010, 08:04 AM