997 Turbo / GT2 2006–2012 Turbo discussion on the 997 model Porsche 911 Twin Turbo.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Bears Transport

Corvette vs Porsche - my thoughts after test drive

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-02-2010, 11:51 AM
JT1198 has a spectacular aura aboutJT1198 has a spectacular aura aboutJT1198 has a spectacular aura about
Corvette vs Porsche - my thoughts after test drive

Hello all – thought I would post my Corvette vs. Porsche thoughts after a test drive in a slightly used 997 TT with only 3000 miles on it. Please note that these are simply my thoughts and observations and that I am by no means an expert on facts for either car or on the automotive world as a whole.
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><o></o>
Over the past couple years I have owned a couple of C6 Z06s, but I never was a Corvette guy. I landed on the Z when it came time to buy a sports car again since I was drawn to their arguably unbeatable value in terms of performance for the dollar. I had however always dreamed of owning a Porsche and I have very clear memories of staring for an eternity at a picture of a rear ¾ view of a 993 turbo about to take to the road in an old Road and Track special issue titled “Supercars”. I always found myself wondering about the Turbo and have been entertaining thoughts of acquiring one and ultimately likely selling the Z.
<o></o>
Yesterday a local dealer who knew I had been looking asked me if I wanted to take out the black 997 TT they had for sale and I couldn’t resist. The streets are mainly clear here now after weeks of a fairly mild winter and I set out to satisfy as much of my curiosity as I could in a 45 min test drive. Here are my thoughts.
<o></o>