997 Turbo / GT2 2006–2012 Turbo discussion on the 997 model Porsche 911 Twin Turbo.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Bears Transport

first time at the track - prep tips

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-07-2010, 01:28 PM
The Bogg Is a GOD !The Bogg Is a GOD !The Bogg Is a GOD !The Bogg Is a GOD !The Bogg Is a GOD !The Bogg Is a GOD !The Bogg Is a GOD !The Bogg Is a GOD !The Bogg Is a GOD !The Bogg Is a GOD !The Bogg Is a GOD !
first time at the track - prep tips

Hi guys,

I have my first track day at Mosport coming up this weekend. I will do the following:

check oil and fluid levels
check nuts and bolts on exhaust
check tire pressures and wheel nuts

any other suggestions for preparation? Would you change the tire pressures for the track? It's not a race, it's a lapping day (for charity no less). I'm a noob on the track so any tips appreciated.

I was going to use race gas and aggressive tune but since this is my first time at Mosport I'll just stick with the regular tune file.

Old 10-07-2010, 02:37 PM
floridaBMW has much to be proud offloridaBMW has much to be proud offloridaBMW has much to be proud offloridaBMW has much to be proud offloridaBMW has much to be proud offloridaBMW has much to be proud offloridaBMW has much to be proud offloridaBMW has much to be proud of
Regarding fluids, if ur brake fluid isn't relatively fresh change it.

Have fun,
Ken

Old 10-07-2010, 02:45 PM
alfordporsche is infamous around these parts
Other Suggestion

Flush brake fluid--No fun losing brakes (pedal goes to floor) when they get hot.

I usually use ATE 200.

Check brake pads and rotors.

PCA chapters (e.g., Peachstate) and probably PCA have track day prep checklists that may be usual to you, including a list of things you should bring with you to the track.

I will be at Road Atlanta at the Peachstate PCA in three weeks. Looking forward to a great time there. I will start prepping my car in a week or so for the DE event.

Have fun!

Regards,

Old 10-07-2010, 02:51 PM