997 Turbo / GT2 2006–2012 Turbo discussion on the 997 model Porsche 911 Twin Turbo.

My First P-Car!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-30-2017 | 07:42 AM
|
Irishace has much to be proud ofIrishace has much to be proud ofIrishace has much to be proud ofIrishace has much to be proud ofIrishace has much to be proud ofIrishace has much to be proud ofIrishace has much to be proud ofIrishace has much to be proud ofIrishace has much to be proud of
My First P-Car!

I have been dreaming of this day, since I was 14 years old, 30 years ago. I have been lusting after P-Cars for longer than I can remember; my dreams are now a reality.

I have been in the BMW car scene for 10 years now, hoping that one day I could make the leap to Porsche. I have owned, in order, an E46 330i, E85 135i, E90 328xi, E36 M3, E92 M3, E90 335xi and an F82 M4. I love BMWs but P-cars they are not.

I never wanted a Cayman, Boxster or NA 911. No doubt they are incredible cars but I always said that when I make the jump it will be into a Turbo. My serious search began a little more than 1 year ago. I had the pleasure of driving the PTF 997.1 shop car for several weeks and it was after this experience that made me realize that it was no longer an option to not have one.

My goals were to locate a low mileage 997.1 manual tranny. Because they are so rare here up in Canada, I could not be picky with options and colour choices. Last Saturday evening I was trolling autotrader, as I do every night, looking for my unicorn and I stumbled across a 2007 997.1 turbo manual transmission. The price was listed at $78,079 CDN and I thought it must be a mistake.