997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

Brakes for HPDEs Cooling issues?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-05-2009, 12:39 PM
JMon is infamous around these parts
Brakes for HPDEs Cooling issues?

I'm new to Porsche, and I plan on buying a 997s.
I came from a Corvette c5, and at HPDEs in summer at Sebring I had a real bad problem with my brakes fading. Turn 7 was always scarry. I solved the fading by switching to Carbotech 8/10 pads, but would land up melting just about everything rubber around the front calipers and rotors. I obviously needed more cooling, but I sold the car before I installed a better system. (spindle ducts)
My question is, how good are the 997s brakes? Do I need to switch pads, and if so, do I need to somehow alter the cooling?

Also if there are any other good threads on this or other forums please link them in here.... Thanks.

Old 02-05-2009, 12:56 PM
mobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud of
997S pads brakes are insane!!

I have done:

6+ AX Days
9+ Track Days

and my pads still have 50+% life left!

The last was at Willow Springs Big Track, which has one of the fastest turn in racing: turn 8 & 9.

I was going into turn 8 at 110 mph (it was my first time at this track so I did not push it) then through the straight away would hit 125-135MPH.

At the end of the straight at 130+ mph, I would slam on my brakes and slow down to 60 mph for turn 1.

I was late braking and did over 125 miles in laps.

I had no brake fade, and the brakes never overheated or smoked!

My brakes are 100% Stock.

The only change I made was SS lines and racing brake fluid (high recommend both!)