997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

Is PS2 tires ready for track?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-06-2009, 10:35 PM
echere88 is infamous around these parts
Is PS2 tires ready for track?

Newbie here with C2S pdk PS2 tires. I am plannig to track the car. Question for the experts here.

Are PS2 tires ready(qualified) for the track? I am still going to drive the car in town here and there. Will I damage or wore out the PS2 tires on the track quickly to the point I can not drive on the freeway? i.e. How many track event I can expect before PS2 worn out? Don't I need a set of street tires and track tires? Thanks for your advise.

Old 10-07-2009, 12:21 PM
drspeed has much to be proud ofdrspeed has much to be proud ofdrspeed has much to be proud ofdrspeed has much to be proud ofdrspeed has much to be proud ofdrspeed has much to be proud ofdrspeed has much to be proud ofdrspeed has much to be proud ofdrspeed has much to be proud of
probably not ideal

I haven't tracked my car, so this is just my educated guess, but I think that you can get a dedicated competition tire for less money that performs better on track. It depends on your specifics. How much track time, do you have other wheels, and will the car be trailered or driven?

I'm pretty sure the PS2s are designed for road use and at $500 a tire, it seems like an expensive square peg in a round hole to track them for any extended period.

Pirelli and Michelin make competition tires in the correct size.

Good luck.

DRP

Old 10-07-2009, 12:29 PM
NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !