997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

More Novice Track Notes...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-13-2009, 05:46 PM
buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !
More Novice Track Notes...

Jaons's (Jellis) recent thread about his first DE day was really good to see here.

I hope more people talk about there experiences on the track in this forum. Its especially good to hear from drivers with all levels of experience who drive porsches and in particular 911's on a track.

As a complete novice who started in April of this year I will have done 12 days so fars all at the NJ Motorsports Park in millville.

My first 4 were in the my boxster and I was hooked. Thats when I decided to add a pretty low optioned base carrara with fairly high miles to drive on the track as the car I would use to hone my skills and not worry so much what happens to it. (the boxster is a great track car but I feel more secure in the coupe)

I plan to do 3-4 more days from now till the early november. (i'm lucky that I live just a couple of hours from NJMP, a great track for a beginner to learn at)

PCA is a good place to start as you always have an instructor in the lower run groups I have done four PCA events so far and the last three I had instructors that were very good. My first event instructor was only so-so. The guy was on the young side and he didn't really help me with what I should be doing.

So the only thing to be aware of with these events is that not all instructors are created equal. And I wouldn't judge them all by one.

PCA is also good because I have made many friends this year just be going to these events. Very helpful and interesting people and enthusiasts.