997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

Helmet recommendation

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-10-2010, 05:39 AM
docfink is infamous around these parts
Question Helmet recommendation

Trying to schedule my first DE and need a helmet. Anyone out there recommend a reasonably priced, comfortable helmet? Also, not having bought one before, I'd like to know where a good place to purchase one might be.

Thanks--

Old 07-10-2010, 06:23 AM
buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !buck986 Is a GOD !
The general consensus is to buy a full faced helmet and to go to a shop and try it on.

Bell is considered a good make at a good price, but there are some less expensive models like pyrotect that are made by Bell and will do the job.

Since the PSDS I attended uses open faces helmets and I was a beginner I decided to buy an open face model. (Bell Sport Model~ $200).

Besides being a little more comfortable, its cooler and you can hear the instructor better if they don't use a communication system. But it does offer slightly less protection. In the lower run groups where I drive in PCA I don't consider it a liability but others would strongly disagree.

I bought mine online at apexperformance.net. They have detailed isntructions and how to measure your head and info on all the sizes of the manufacturers.

I'm not sure if the NJMP sports store is still open. I have not driven there yet this year. But if it is they have a good selection of helmets but they tend to be in the mid price range. I would call first to see if when and if they are open.

Good luck. Once you do your first DE you will be amazed at what the car can really do.

Old 07-10-2010, 06:29 AM
thor7000 is infamous around these parts