997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

Aftermarket headunit install?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-23-2012, 02:16 PM
haivle is infamous around these parts
Aftermarket headunit install?

hi, im planning to buy the new appradio from pioneer sph-da100 for 499 and the bezel from euromotorsport for 300, and i was wondering what else will i need to do the install? can i do it myself or will i need a professional? im new at this have never done an audio install before. my car is a 2005 997 with bose thanks

Old 02-23-2012, 03:11 PM
NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !
Your factory system uses the MOST system, and an aftermarket head unit will not connect to the factory amp with out a connection device that converts the signal. You could also add another amp and rewire the entire system to the factory speakers if you want.

Old 02-23-2012, 08:15 PM
RaidersR1 is a glorious beacon of lightRaidersR1 is a glorious beacon of lightRaidersR1 is a glorious beacon of lightRaidersR1 is a glorious beacon of lightRaidersR1 is a glorious beacon of lightRaidersR1 is a glorious beacon of light
I had a conversation with my audio installer today about doing the exact same thing. He does most, if not all, of the installs and mods for the local Porsche dealer. He has done all my company vehicles so I trust him 100%. He told me that there is a kit to purchase that allows you to use ALL the existing BOSE speakers and use the BOSE amp. he said the kit has all connectors to convert the signal from the Pioneer harness to the optical signal required by BOSE. You don't need an additional amp for the front speakers nor do you have to use the outputs on the head unit.