997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

Wheel Material

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-15-2007, 02:10 PM
Banned
hozer is infamous around these parts
Wheel Material

There is a lot of talk of "soft" and "hard" wheels and of course their associated weight. I was looking at the Kinesis F110 wheels since they look great and found this....

Kinesis F110 wheels are forged of 6061-T6 aircraft quality aluminum making them strong yet very lightweight.

I dont really know much about wheel materials, but I am a structural engineer working the aerospace industry. 6061-T6 is a pretty poor material structurally and about the only thing we use it for is brackets since its pretty easy to bend in its heat treated condition. Evenso...most newer airplanes are going for better aluminum for even brackets. I have never seen 6061-T6 used for any primary structure, its just very weak.

On the other hand, 7075-T6 and 2024-T4 are "real" "aircraft quality" alloys (and associated heat treats). This is what has generally been used for wings, bulkheads,frames, skins.

So if 6061-T6 is good for a wheel and is "aircraft quality", then what the heck is the back stuff? I cannot think of anything too much worse than 6061 off the top of my head, but I am sure there are some worse alums.

Of course the process will make it different (i.e. cast versus forged), but still 6061 just isnt that great.

For ref, 6061-T6 has a Ftu of 44ksi die forged while 7075-T6 has an Ftu of 78ksi die forged...nearly 80% stronger.

mil-hdbk-5 provides material data and is public domain.

Old 07-15-2007, 02:32 PM
dndodd is infamous around these parts
Interesting. So in your opinion who makes a good qaulity lite weight wheel mfg from good aircraft alum?

Old 07-15-2007, 03:00 PM
Banned