Aston Martin DB7, DB9, DBS, Vantage V8, Vanquish, and Classic models

Thinking about an Aston Martin

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-07-2012, 10:02 PM
Fortress55 is infamous around these parts
Thinking about an Aston Martin

I have been reading this forum for years and finally registered so that I could make my first post. I have learned a lot of useful information here! Thank you all very much.

At the present time, I'm considering one of the following few cars (in no particular order):
1. Used or New Aston Martin Vantage V8 or V8S sportshift or sportshift II
2. Porsche 911 Carerra S PDK 991
3. Used Gallardo perhaps (least likely)
4. Wait a year and a half and buy a BMW i8 when it comes out.

I know these options may not necessarily be too similar but these are the cars I'm considering. I'm keeping my E92 M3 as my daily driver.

I have a lot of experience with BMW, Porsche, and Mercedes, but I really don't have much experience with Aston Martins. I really like AMs elegant sophisticated look and presence. Are the sportshift transmissions reliable and fun to use? I love the DCT in my M. Also, is it worth getting a V8S over a regular V8?
I haven't had a chance to test drive any of the above cars but I plan on doing so shortly. I saw a 991 carrera S and a vantage today at their respective dealerships.
Any thoughts on the cars above?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by GT3 Chuck; 02-07-2012 at 10:08 PM. Reason: not enough posts, time and not in open forum
Old 02-07-2012, 10:27 PM
Viper1 is a jewel in the roughViper1 is a jewel in the roughViper1 is a jewel in the roughViper1 is a jewel in the rough