Aston Martin DB7, DB9, DBS, Vantage V8, Vanquish, and Classic models

Diff Fluid & Pollen Filters

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-12-2013, 10:58 AM
RicoDB9 is infamous around these parts
Diff Fluid & Pollen Filters

I'm a newbie so instead of starting ANOTHER post on diff fluids I thought I tried to PM Irish but it wouldn't let me.

I have been reading everything I can for my car (an 07 DB9 which will soon be in Montreal with me) and I fond the site very interesting and full of great info.

I’ve been looking to change the diff fluid (no chatter but just to be ahead of the curve) and I've been looking high and low for Shell S6 AXME 75w-90 (Formerly Spirax ASX). I even called Shell Canada and they said I can only get a 20L pail from the UK.

So I called Decarie Motors in Montreal and they said they don't have it in stock but can order it however it comes a 24L case at a time at $40/L (WTF?)

Next... I was in the upstate NY the other day to buy 0W40 Mobil1 Oil ($25 for 5L at Walmart - score) and looked there as well. No joy. I did find a Mobil1 synthetic gear oil 75W90 with an additive for $10/qt. Is this an acceptable alternative?

Also I have the FULL 600+ page service manual. I searched through the entire manual and I can’t find out where the freakin' Pollen Filters are on this thing and I've looked high and low. Any pointers on that?

I did search for a Pollen Filter thread before posting this as I was sure somebody would have asked the question but came up empty there too.

Thanks,
Richard

Old 04-12-2013, 11:16 AM
Basic Sponsor
Irish07@VelocityAP Is a GOD !Irish07@VelocityAP Is a GOD !Irish07@VelocityAP Is a GOD !Irish07@VelocityAP Is a GOD !Irish07@VelocityAP Is a GOD !Irish07@VelocityAP Is a GOD !Irish07@VelocityAP Is a GOD !Irish07@VelocityAP Is a GOD !Irish07@VelocityAP Is a GOD !Irish07@VelocityAP Is a GOD !Irish07@VelocityAP Is a GOD !
God, parts never gets things right..