Aston Martin DB7, DB9, DBS, Vantage V8, Vanquish, and Classic models

Clutch M/T Vantage

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-09-2015, 11:25 AM
seastu is infamous around these parts
Clutch M/T Vantage

My 2015 Vantage Gt has about 1200 miles on it. Yesterday while parked on incline the car started to roll into some bushes.. must have been daydreaming. Not thinking to clearly I accelerated and shifted into first. Luckily I avoided the bushes but smelled burnt clutch immediately after. I have been driving stick for the last 40 years and don't recall ever smelling a burnt clutch. I have been careful to match rpms on down shifts and easy low rpms into first. Is this a common issue with these cars and did I cause any excessive wear to the clutch.

Old 10-09-2015, 11:52 AM
telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !
Easy question first... are you sure the parking brake was fully engaged?

Old 10-09-2015, 12:22 PM
Me error, I should have stated that I released the emergency brake before depressing clutch pedal.

Old 10-09-2015, 12:43 PM
Prefurbia has a brilliant futurePrefurbia has a brilliant futurePrefurbia has a brilliant futurePrefurbia has a brilliant futurePrefurbia has a brilliant futurePrefurbia has a brilliant futurePrefurbia has a brilliant futurePrefurbia has a brilliant futurePrefurbia has a brilliant futurePrefurbia has a brilliant futurePrefurbia has a brilliant future
I smoked my clutch to avoid beingrear ended many years ago in a 2007 vantage of smoke from the burning clutch looked like I had smoked the tires but the smell was definitely clutch!

Anyhow I had driven the car 25,000 hard miles before I sold it in the clutch was still fine.

Old 10-09-2015, 12:55 PM