Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Considering an R8 Spyder

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-16-2012, 09:04 AM
malmasri is infamous around these parts
Considering an R8 Spyder

I have been a porsche driver the better part of my life...I have a 997 TT Cab for street driving and a GT3 RS for the track...
I am looking at an R8 5.2 Spyder and would like the opinion of current owners..What is good about the vehicle..what to look for and more importantly what are you not happy with...
TIA

Old 05-16-2012, 05:04 PM
PAULIEWALNUTS Is a GOD !PAULIEWALNUTS Is a GOD !PAULIEWALNUTS Is a GOD !PAULIEWALNUTS Is a GOD !PAULIEWALNUTS Is a GOD !PAULIEWALNUTS Is a GOD !PAULIEWALNUTS Is a GOD !PAULIEWALNUTS Is a GOD !PAULIEWALNUTS Is a GOD !PAULIEWALNUTS Is a GOD !PAULIEWALNUTS Is a GOD !
I'm also looking at the spyder. All opinions would be appreciated.

Old 05-20-2012, 06:16 PM
ESK
Hick from NH
ESK is infamous around these parts
I also consider myself a "Porsche" guy. My DD is a '12 Cayenne Turbo and my last two sportscars were 997 TT Cabs. After considering a 991S Cab and a TTS Cab, I ended up buying an R8 V10 MT Spyder about 3 weeks ago after. I couldn't see spending $130k on a non-Turbo 911 and I didn't want a PDK. The 997 TT Cab was the same old thing I already had and again I wanted an MT.

What is good about the R8? Everything. It's an exotic without screaming "look at me" even though it's an Audi. The standard exhaust sound is incredible - think Ferrari. The clutch and transmission are incredibly smooth. The car is extremely powerful and pulls in all gears - no turbo lag. The handling is great - I love turning the flat bottom wheel through corners. I haven't red-lined it yet (about 8,500) but have hit 7,000 and the car just screams.