Boxster / Cayman Porsche Boxster, Boxster S, and Cayman discussion board.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A noob with a Boxster

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-25-2012, 10:41 PM
juliend is infamous around these parts
A noob with a Boxster

Hi everyone !
My name is Julien, I'm a new member and in first of all I apologize for my english (I'm a noob with car and english language .
I live in San Francisco and the last month I bought this boxster:
http://sanfrancisco.dollon.net/post/...a-Porsche.aspx

1998, 29 000 miles !
So, I made the 30 000 miles revisions with oil changer and some stuff (breaks...).
After 1000 miles, a the check engine was UP, I read the code and I saw a problem with the MAF.
I changed the MAF and the light never appear again.

But since one week, when I push hard sometimes, I really can feel a loss of power.
Each time I push over 5000 rpm, the car loss a LOT of power, I have to stop to push, wait somes secondes before continue to push again.

Any other time, when I go slowly on the road, the thing goes fine and no light check engine.

I was wondering if bad spark plugs could lead to that or if any other trouble could be the culprit
bad fuel filter, ... ?
clogged injectors?
faulty fuel pump?

I really don't know. Porsche technician don't know, he says "I tested your car and I feel that all is fine, no fault code I can t do anything"...

If someone has an idea, I'm not an expert so each idea I will ask to Porsche to try to solve the problem.

Thank you !

Old 01-26-2012, 03:23 PM
Hybridc24k is infamous around these parts
If you haven't maybe you should do a major service on it. It seems like it would be due about now. Also, it wouldn't hurt to do injector cleaning. I remember I had to do that when I lost power all of the sudden going uphill on my other car.

Old 02-01-2012, 06:23 PM
mtmd11 is a jewel in the roughmtmd11 is a jewel in the roughmtmd11 is a jewel in the roughmtmd11 is a jewel in the rough