Boxster / Cayman Porsche Boxster, Boxster S, and Cayman discussion board.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is this a good deal? (wrecked 2008 cayman)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-02-2012, 07:15 PM
mystical_ice is infamous around these parts
Is this a good deal? (wrecked 2008 cayman)

Hi,

Let me first start out by saying that I have no experience with Porsche other than having respect for them, and admiring one drive by me every once in a while. I have several friends that are avid Porsche enthusiasts, but I've always been more of a domestic person (judge me all you want). I drive a cadillac, and while it may not be as slick as a porsche, it's still a good car and i'm happy with it.

That said, i got a call from my dad today. He is a boat enthusiast, and one of his friends that has a boat salvage yard (buys wrecked boats) had an opportunity to purchase a 2008 Cayman S. The car is wrecked, but my dad sent me a dozen or so pictures. It appears all the damage is done to the front (lower) end. The rest of the car, including the engine, is in perfect condition.

It's a 2008 model, manual transmission, and 23,000 miles.

I have the opportunity to pick this car up for $20,000 even. Obviously it doesn't have a clean blue title. I would like to know if it's worth doing (attempting)? My aim in doing this would not be to drive it myself, but rather to fix it up and make a few thousand dollars selling it to someone.

Being that you are Porsche (and perhaps even Cayman) owners yourselves, what would your take be? Obviously if this were a 911 turbo or a GT3, i'd be all over it for the price, but I know the Cayman isn't too expensive, so I'm wary if I should even begin to tackle it.

I'm attaching a few pictures so you can see the damage.

What are your thoughts on a) the cost to get it running and working again? I have a guy that can take care of any paint work, who does work for the local Porsche dealership, so really i'm more worried on parts and installation.