Boxster / Cayman Porsche Boxster, Boxster S, and Cayman discussion board.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I guess Boxsters get no respect?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-16-2007, 09:51 PM
turbokuo is infamous around these parts
I guess Boxsters get no respect?

I've been looking to move to a 911S after happily owning my 2005 Boxster S and also my previous Porsche (2003 Boxster) but encountered a dissapointing experienced today at Porsche of Downtown Los Angeles.

After work I picking up my 05 Boxster S from the service department who I've been working with for the last 4 years and planned to test drive the 911S as I was beginning to need the extra room in the back for emergencies and the ability for my significant other to lean back on long trips for more comfort and of course PASM. Well a sales associate approached and I explained that I owned a boxster and wanted to test drive one of the 911S for the above reasons. He return with the keys but I balked because it was a used 2007 911S with some $7K of aftermarket upgrades including engine work (400HP...ahhh sure...) and exhuast.

So I proceeded to ask to drive a stock car new or used and he kept pushing in an unenthusiastic/condescending tone to drive this particular one 2 more times because he stated that he didn't want to put miles on any other new one. Well after returning to his desk, he made the same comment one more time that "it's about the same," so I said nicely, "I'm sorry but if you're busy or something, I don't mind being handed off." So he scinically muttered "Well I'm looking for your car right, now" and moments later got up and dropped me off with the sales manager.

So I guess Boxsters get no respect? It's fustrating, what should I have done rolled up with a picture of my house in my affluent zip code with the all the rest of my luxury cars in driveway to prove that I'm serious? Sheeesh!