Cayenne 955/957 Porsche's SUV up to 2011. Cayenne, Cayenne S, and Cayenne Turbo message forum.

Clear bra protection

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-05-2010, 04:14 PM
mike pezely is infamous around these parts
Clear bra protection

My wife wants to have a clear bra installed on the front of her CS. I have no experience with this product. What are your thoughts and how long will this last? Will it discolor with time and does it damage the paint if it ever has to come off? Thanks, Mike

Old 02-05-2010, 05:42 PM
z145433 is infamous around these parts
I have it on both my cayenne and 993. I dislike the how I can see the end of the film on the hood and how it distorts the color on the 993(arena red).
but every time I wash either car I see the beating the film takes from rocks and road debris without damaging the paint.
if I could start over I would cover the entire hood on both vehicles.
the 993 film was replaced once already a few years ago, there was no paint damage when the old film was removed.
the film hadn't discolored but had lifted in a few spots which looks bad, like an air bubble.

Old 02-05-2010, 05:45 PM
TT
TT is a glorious beacon of lightTT is a glorious beacon of lightTT is a glorious beacon of lightTT is a glorious beacon of lightTT is a glorious beacon of lightTT is a glorious beacon of light
I've had the 3M clear bra installed on several vehicles. The first time around one piece had to be reinstalled due to allowing water to buildup inside, which they covered under warranty and were easy to work with. The product has come a long way over the years and is a good investment if you ask me.

I recently had a minor mishap in a parking garage as the barrier decide to close on me as I exited. The clear bra actually saved the day because there would have been major paint damage across the entire hood if it wasn't installed.