Cayenne 955/957 Porsche's SUV up to 2011. Cayenne, Cayenne S, and Cayenne Turbo message forum.

04 Cayenne Turbo PCM NAVI MAP CD

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-29-2012, 06:36 AM
fullmetaljacket is infamous around these parts
04 Cayenne Turbo PCM NAVI MAP CD

Hi Guys! Newbie here. I've been trying to search threads in and out of 6speed but could not find anything close to addressing my issues:

1. Where do I get a CD Map for the NAVI that will work in Asia?
2. Garmin NAVI systems work on this side of the pond, is the PCM on the Cayenne running on Garmin or TomTom or Magellan perhaps? Or is the NAVI system OS proprietary to Porsche?

TIA for any inputs - cheers!

Old 01-31-2012, 03:41 AM
Tried searching all over the place. NO CD available for my country Any suggestions on workarounds? For example - routing the output of a Garmin GPA external device? Just a thought.

Old 01-31-2012, 07:27 AM
Dennis C is a splendid one to beholdDennis C is a splendid one to beholdDennis C is a splendid one to beholdDennis C is a splendid one to beholdDennis C is a splendid one to beholdDennis C is a splendid one to beholdDennis C is a splendid one to beholdDennis C is a splendid one to behold
The 2004 navigation system is not great, even if you find the maps! The latest update was done in 2008, and it is still lacking compared to more modern systems. I replaced the headunit in my C4S with a Kenwood unit with Garmin navigation, and it's great. I think I'm going to do the same thing in my Cayenne. It's not the cheapest option, but it would solve your problem! I would also give you iPod connectivity, Sirius XM, Bluetooth, etc.

Old 01-31-2012, 10:22 AM
Thanks Dennis! I was contemplating on installing the Kenwood DNX-7180 on my X5 before but couldn't really find a nice mounting kit that I like. Hence I stayed with some Chinese branded OEM looking headunit (Hualingan) that was really lousy

Hope you won't mind a few questions about your install: