Detailing Paint, body, detailing and waxing.

My First "Real" Polish job!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-13-2010, 03:19 PM
JoeinLA is infamous around these parts
My First "Real" Polish job!

If anyone wants to see what a complete novice (and one who's not really mechanically inclined) can do with the right tools and instruction, here's the results of my first polish job. This was on my Bro-in-Law's Saab that basically sat outside, parked under a tree, for 5 years. It was a DISASTER.

Washed, waxed, and clayed the whole car. Then I polished the passenger's side with a Flex polisher and first using Menzerna SIP and a wool pad, followed by SIP and an orange pad. Wanted to finish with Menzerna Super Finish on a white pad, but my Bro in Law got lazy, and was so impressed with the results so far, that he wanted to skip the Super Finish, and start on the driver's side.

If you look REALLY closely in person, there are a few water spots that I wasn't able to get out; but I didn't want to get too aggressive with the polishing.

Just thought I'd post this if anyone was nervous about doing this or wondering what real results a "noob" could achieve. It's not perfect, and probably far less than what a pro could do, but if you saw this car originally, you'd say the results were pretty awesome.

Anyways, see pics below. Both sides washed and clayed (and re-washed after polishing the passenger's side). No wax applied.

Un-polished:

Polished (2 pics, trying to get the same amount of sun glare for a "fair" comparison):

The dots are dust, and the lines are from the QD streaking :P Seeing it in person, it's really mirror-like!

Old 12-13-2010, 03:40 PM