Notices
GT3/GT2 Performance and Track Discussion on the Porsche GT3 and GT2

Is my suspension bottoming out?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-05-2010, 12:06 PM
jakegt3 is infamous around these parts
Is my suspension bottoming out?

I've been driving my '07 GT3 on the roads for just a few months now. I have found that when I drive at moderate speeds (say, 40 mph) over certain types of road depressions with abrupt pavement transitions, the worst being sunken manhole covers, that I get a sharp, whacking noise from the front end of the car when the suspension hits bottom. By eye these road depressions don't seem to be more than a couple inches deep, so I find this kind of surprising. The result is pretty much the same from both the left and right front wheels. The car does not seem at all upset by the impact, but the noise does catch you off guard when it happens.

It sure sounds like the suspension is bottoming out. Do you guys consider this normal?

FWIW I made a rough measurement of suspension travel from its neutral position to full downward extension of the front wheels by raising the front end of the car so the wheels lifted off the ground. I measured a hair more than 2 inches of travel, which seems to suggest there isn't much margin against bottoming out. Does that sound right?

Old 01-05-2010, 12:36 PM
Jgalt is infamous around these partsJgalt is infamous around these parts
my experience

I have a 996 GT3 that had been fitted with aftermarket 19" wheels. Every highway divider, dip or other minor undulation resulted in the sound that I thought was bottoming out. However, there was no evidence of strikes on the underside. I switched out to stock 18" wheels and the problem is gone. I am still careful about drops or ledges and I would be very careful about a sunken manhole. These cars are low.

Old 01-05-2010, 01:51 PM