Notices
GT3/GT2 Performance and Track Discussion on the Porsche GT3 and GT2

sway bars 101

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-31-2010, 05:34 AM
utkinpol has a reputation beyond reputeutkinpol has a reputation beyond reputeutkinpol has a reputation beyond reputeutkinpol has a reputation beyond reputeutkinpol has a reputation beyond reputeutkinpol has a reputation beyond reputeutkinpol has a reputation beyond reputeutkinpol has a reputation beyond reputeutkinpol has a reputation beyond reputeutkinpol has a reputation beyond reputeutkinpol has a reputation beyond repute
sway bars 101

Hi,

as it`s almost 20 years now since I graduated I`ve managed to forget pretty much entire Mechanics of Materials course and I kinda struggle to understand how do we change car`s behavior with sway bars tuning.
Very simplistic approach shared pretty much by everyone is that stiffer front sway increases understeer, stiffer rear increases oversteer.
But by how much exactly and with what side effects?

To look at any sway bar we have essentially an adjustable lever.
So does anybody know - say, if we take stock non-adjustable C2 or C2S 997 bar and compare to stock GT3 bar, TPC bar, GMG bar - how exactly stock C2S bar stiffness compares to those bars when they are in 1st hole (softest) position and stiffest position? What is the actual range of values there? Is it even disclosed anywhere? Everybody knows about springs stiffness - is same info available about sway bars? Or is it even relevant?